Osvaldo Golijov's music - you decide

The Guardian music critic Andrew Clements wrote that Osvaldo Golijov has been described as "the future of contemporary music", but added "let's hope not." Now you can make up your own mind about Golijov's music. BBC Radio 3 is broadcasting a concert of his music tonight (16th Feb) at 7.30pm GMT. Four works are being performed, there are four premieres (one world) and the soloists include Dawn Upshaw (photo right). You can listen via the webcast or until 23rd Feb using the Listen Again service, follow this link to hear the concert. The programme is:

Last Round (UK premiere);

Tekyah (UK premiere);
Ainadamar Arias and Ensembles (world premiere);
Ayre (European premiere)

Dawn Upshaw (soprano), Jessica Rivera (soprano), Kelly O'Connor (mezzo-soprano), Michael Ward-Bergman (Accordion), David Krakauer (Kleztmer Clarinet), Apollo Voices (chorus), The Andalucian Dogs (ensemble)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Roberto Minczuk (conductor)

Is Osvaldo Golijov the future of contemporary music? Your views please using the POST A COMMENT icon below.

Report broken links, missing images and other errors to - overgrownpath at hotmail dot co dot uk
If you enjoyed this post take An Overgrown Path to Contemporary music's future? - 'I hope not' and From the theatre of the synagogue


Pliable said…
Many thanks for that Christina.

It is well worth visiting Christina's article. Here is a hot link to it.
Anonymous said…
I heard Golijovs “The Dreams and Prayers of Isaac the Blind” at the Lockenhaus-Festival in Summer 2005: Great and gripping music, modern and understandable.

Lukas Fierz, Bern, Switzerland

Recent popular posts

Can streamed music ever be beautiful?

All aboard the Martinu bandwagon

Great music has no independent existence

Mahler that dares to be different

The Berlin Philharmonic's darkest hour

Who are the real classical role models?

Master musician who experienced the pain of genius

He was not an online kind of person

Nada Brahma - Sound is God

Classical music's biggest problem is that no one cares